Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I read an interesting article on the New York Times that basically said that what you concentrate on and who you spend your time with is what you become focused on/a part of you. For instance, if you spend a lot of time with a particular person, pieces of their personality become a part of you. The same with if you focus of volunteering, then you become a volunteer machine and forget about other aspects of life. This article, in sum, was showing the negative side of philanthropy and focusing on things that were not tangible, but for me it had a completely different meaning. This article was a mirror to my personality this summer and the changes it has endured since leaving school.

My friends and I refer to the transition from school to home as coming back from our new world to our old world because everything is different. At school, I had been focused on studying, learning, and my future; at home I have been consumed by social gatherings, a pathetic attempt to stay focused, and sleeping. My life has taken a complete 180 from motivated to not. It has been hard to do this things that I had planned that I needed to do (like STAR) because I am in summer mode, but also I am around different people. I connected with this article because I have seenmy personality alter to include my friends’. I have also noticed my drive evaporate and it take extreme effort to do things that at school I would jump out of bed 4 hours earlier than my first class to complete.

I think all of this is interesting and I liked how the author of the article tied this phenomenon to science and the human brain. What I had experienced was changes in my brain. Actually, every single thing we do changes are brain, so after every moment we are a completely different person.. How cool!

Sorry for the rant I just thought this tidbit of information was interesting and oh so relaviant to my life, so I had to share. Below is a link to the article I referenced in this post that is much like some of the papers I wrote for school. These past few days I have felt my school side redeveloping, which is good because I like that side a lot better.. it is much more productive!

The Way to Produce a Person